Cindy L. Meester's Blog- Speech Therapy with a Twist


A clutter free year…. maybe?

Posted in Uncategorized by Cindy on December 26, 2011

It’s hard to believe it is the end of December. Here in Minnesota the temperature hit a record high of 51 degrees which is very unseasonal. Needless to say the ice candles I planned to light are now puddles!  While I am home on winter break from school it gives me time to work on my home to do list  which includes decluttering. We are considering downsizing which has me looking into closets and rooms with lots of “stuff” and wondering where to start.  It also has me thinking about all the therapy materials I have at home, school and the clinic. I have been using my  iPad  more than my “stuff” in therapy. This has helped me try out apps and find those that work best for different student needs but it also makes me think I need to “downsize” my materials. I’m not going to stop using “stuff” as I do believe it is important to have a mix in therapy sessions but I do believe I can get rid of a few things. One thing I like about my iPad is the need for less clutter and paper but I can’t  discount the positives of other therapy materials too.  So here are are some ideas with a mix of iPad apps to create materials to start the new year without a lot of added clutter!

                                

All of these activities were made using the app  Custom Boards from Smarty Ears.

1. This is a feeling game and Brooke was happy to be my model.  I used the Christmas Tree template and imported pictures from my Photos that displayed different emotions. I printed one master copy. You could laminate this or put it in a protective plastic sleeve. I printed one extra and cut out the ornaments. The object is to pick an ornament, label the emotion and make guesses on what the gift might have been. For example: Excited (red): she received an iPad or Upset/Mad (orange): she received a pair of used boots. It can be a fun brainstorming activity and lead to a social skills lesson on what to say and what to keep in your thinking bubble. Feelings Tree 

2. Although we don’t have any snow right now I thought a blizzard game was appropriate this time of year.  I used the Board Game (Simple) template  from Custom Boards to create a quick open-ended game that could be use for different objectives. This one is called Blizzard. You can use a coin (heads=2, tails=1) or a die to move. If you land on the purple blizzard you lose one turn. If you land on snow day you take another turn. Now landing on the red dice is the open ended part of this game. Blizzard Game Board

  1. For articulation students use articulation cards or the Articulate it! App* and if they land on a die with 5 they say a word five times or five words or even use the words in a sentence. Play continues as long as time allows.
  2. For language students use the Label Set #3 template found in Signs & Labels and add vocabulary words or pictures to the circles or “snowballs” and they draw from the pile when landing on a red die. You might have them provide a definition, describe and have others guess; use the concept in a sentence, etc.  You may want them to just draw one “snowball” on their turn.

3. I used the Matching Cards template found in Activities & Games to created two syllable word cards. I cut them apart and laminated them. I made them color-coded to help with matching the two pieces.

  • The students can draw these in a matching game format.
  • I have also placed or taped one half of the word in the room and they try to find their match.
  • We placed these on the floor in a hopscotch form and they say each syllable while hopping on them. They like to collect as many pairs as they can.
  • 2 Syllable words A;  Syllables BSyllables CSyllables DSyllables ESyllables F

* there are other articulation apps to use too: ArtikPixPocketSLPArticulation StationTalking Tails

3 Responses to 'A clutter free year…. maybe?'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'A clutter free year…. maybe?'.

  1. Dana said,

    Thanks for all of your great ideas! Which printer do you use? Any recommendations for an air printer?!? I would like to purchase one over break!

    • Cindy said,

      Thank you! I don’t have an air printer at school so I email anything I create on my iPad to myself. At home I have an Envy 100. Here is a list of printers that work- http://support.apple.com/kb/ht4356

      Cindy

  2. Gail Goldman said,

    Would love to win a free app. spending a ton of money on apps!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,040 other followers

