Cindy L. Meester's Blog- Speech Therapy with a Twist


Bobbing our way into Spring!!!

Posted in Uncategorized by Cindy on April 4, 2013
Tags: , , , , ,

bopping

I knew I should do something “springy” in my speech room.  I just didn’t want to go all flowers and birds. So I decided to use an app called Bobbleshop. Here’s the almost completed result: (I don’t know if I can get my whole caseload on one side of my door but I’m going to bobble as many as I can!)

bop

The green grass was cut from Smart-Fab. I was lucky to win several rolls of this material on their Facebook page. The letters and cutouts were free from our school supply room.

photocollage

The Bobbleshop app was free when I found it. They have other versions you can check-out too.My students are in grades K-3rd and we had a lot of fun with this activity.  I could see with older students taking more time and fine tuning the faces to really look like themselves. Or how about taking an actor, cartoon character, etc. and creating them … then posting them and have others guess who.

My therapy goals: (yea I really did have some)

1. following directions

2. turn taking

3. choosing parts and deciding if they were making them look the same or different from their real self

4. understanding vocabulary and concepts- bobble head, giggle, larger, smaller, darker, lighter

5. emotions- eyebrows, eyes and mouth can make different expressions

6. joint attention- it was fun to see the kids help each other and giggle together

7. humor- is it silly or not silly, one of my students just didn’t understand why others were laughing and why it was funny so that was a whole lesson (to be expanded upon)

8. I am going to print off smaller versions and use these as characters in stories, game pieces and whatever else pops into my twisted brain. I’m thinking Mad Lib like on the whiteboard.  I also have items from Think-a-lot that I use to create stories and including these cute characters will add a new twist.

So take this idea and add  your own twist!

Cindy

1. meester

8 Responses to 'Bobbing our way into Spring!!!'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'Bobbing our way into Spring!!!'.

  1. Lorrie said,

    Really cute idea! I can just hear the kids as they worked in them. I’m sure they had a ball and learned a lot too!

    • Cindy said,

      Thanks! We did have a ball. This helped me go home with a smile this week instead of a stressed out brain!
      Cindy

  2. Joe Figueras said,

    What a great idea – I love the cut-outs! Just to let you know if any of your kids like basketball or baseball (opening day was a couple of days ago) BaseBobble and BasketBobble are free for a time also – I’m so happy the kids like playing with the app!!!!! Please check out my blog for fun Bobbleshop ideas.

    • Cindy said,

      Thanks! I did download the other bobble apps too. Your creations on your blog are amazing.
      Cindy

  3. Laura said,

    So cute! Thanks for sharing the idea!

    • Cindy said,

      Thanks Laura!
      Cindy

  4. Kaldor, Cynthia (ESC) said,

    You are so creative!! I love reading your ideas!

    Cindy Kaldor
    Autism Behavior Consultant
    RL, FB, EC, ZW, PL
    In-district phone- 56305

    Office- Oakview 425-1881

    • Cindy said,

      Thanks Cindy!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,882 other followers

