Cindy L. Meester's Blog- Speech Therapy with a Twist


Call it May…be?

Posted in Uncategorized by Cindy on May 1, 2013
Tags: ,

It is May 1st. It is May day. If our kids want to put treats on someone’s door step they will need to put on their winter boots and coats. It’s May 1st and it is snowing … again here in balmy Minnesota (insert fake smile with chattering teeth.)  Plus we are having indoor recess!!!!  So that is why I decorated my speech room door like this today….

photo 1

photo 2

I am having my students send text messages to Mother Nature today. You never know it could help!

Here’s how it works:

1. New messsage TO: Mother Nature

2. We discuss what/who is Mother Nature. Each child decides what message they want to send and I type it in.

3. Press send and hope for the best!

Here are a few samples:

collage 2

So far Mother Nature has not sent a text back. May…be she is busy.

Now go put your own twist on this!

Cindy

8 Responses to 'Call it May…be?'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'Call it May…be?'.


  1. This is so cute! Love it all! Any plans for Mother Nature to respond in any way? Kim

    • Cindy said,

      Thanks! She hasn’t sent a text yet but the weather forcast is for more snow tonight. I really wonder where these text messages are ending up?
      Cindy

  2. Terri Porter said,

    Cute idea! and yes it is snowing in Sioux City, Iowa today and my speech kids were hoping for another snow day!!!

    • Cindy said,

      Thanks!
      We’ve had two snow days which is very rare! I do NOT another one. I want sun and warm please.
      Cindy

  3. Pat Mervine said,

    Very clever, Cindy! But, oh no! Snow!! I don’t want to hear that four-letter word until December….at the earliest!

    • Cindy said,

      Thanks Pat. I agree about the snow but 6-9″ are predicted for tonight into tomorrow. Maybe it will miss where I live!!
      Cindy

  4. lovingthetalk said,

    This idea was so adorable. I did this last Thursday and put them up asap. Yesterday and today the sun has appeared and it is warm. I think Mother Nature just needed a little prompting.

    • Cindy said,

      Thank you! You are a lot farther north than me. I’m glad you were able to use this AND now have warmer weather. I do believe we did help Mother Nature with a few prompts.
      Cindy


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,880 other followers

