Cindy L. Meester's Blog- Speech Therapy with a Twist


Cloudy with a Chance of fun…

Posted in Uncategorized by Cindy on October 15, 2013
Tags: , ,

I started a unit based on a News 2 You edition about the new movie Cloudy With a Chance of Meatballs 2.  We looked at the book that the first movie was based on. I mainly skimmed the pages and summarized about an island where it rained food and what happened when the food grew. It led to watching the video trailers for both movies which led to worksheets I found here: Cloudy with a Chance of Meatball sheets.

You can see the sheets on my window wall:

wall

We created game boards together. You can start anywhere on the game and the object was to get all the way around. Each group has different goals so some were working on using the word in a sentence or providing a description or a category, etc. We rolled a die to see how many spaces to move for each turn. I used magnetic chips and each student had a different color to place on each space.

photo 5 photo 4  photo 3photo 2 photo 1

I found these cute lunch bags from the Target Dollar Spot. I used them for following directions (color the mouth red etc.) I also cut out the mouth of a couple so we could use it for categories (food and not food etc.) synonyms and antonyms and more. They were nick named our Food Monsters.

bags bag

But the most fun was creating our food wall about the Cloudy With a Chance of Meatballs book and movie.  The students chose the food and their body postitions.

image

Since I quickly ran out of room for all my students we then created the second movie on my wall.

3

We drew sequence stories.

photo 1

We had an APPitite for these:

More Toast, Sandwich Maker, Cookie Maker, Cloudy, Cloudy with a chance of Meatballs, Let’s Eat!, Grillmeister  and others for pizza, pie, donuts, potato head, icee, and more.

We popped words, colors and other goal areas with ice cream cone shooters.

ice cream

And of course we played lots of food games: Picnic Panic, Mr. & Mrs. Potato Head, Shake Shake Shake, Alfredo’s Food Fight, Ice Cream Scoops of fun and more.

photo

We had a food frenzy without gaining a pound all the while targeting each students dietary needs- oops I mean IEP goals.

Now go add your own twist!

Cindy

8 Responses to 'Cloudy with a Chance of fun…'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'Cloudy with a Chance of fun…'.

  1. Pat Mervine said,

    Delicious ideas!! You are so clever! Thanks for sharing!

    • Cindy said,

      Thanks Pat!

  2. Lucy Nutt said,

    Absolutely fabulous! Can you possibly share one or two of your Custom Board games with me? It would save time and I promise to acknowledge your work!

    Smiles, Lucy Nutt, SLP

    >

    • Cindy said,

      Hi Lucy!
      Did you try printing them from my blog? If that doesn’t work let me know. I thought I posted them so others could use them too.
      Cindy

  3. Rose said,

    Loving all your awesome food ideas…especially the game boards! I never get tired of creatively using food in therapy sessions! Thanks for sharing! Rose (“speechsnacks”)

    • Cindy said,

      Thank you Rose!
      Love all your food ideas on your blog too.
      Cindy

  4. Casey said,

    Thank you for sharing your great ideas Cindy! I love them! This is a book I have never used before, so you have inspired me to add it to my lessons at some point this school year. Thanks again!

    • Cindy said,

      Thanks Casey!
      You can also do a weather unit with this book. Have fun!
      Cindy


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,876 other followers

