Cindy L. Meester's Blog- Speech Therapy with a Twist


Recharging my SLP brain cells

Posted in Uncategorized by Cindy on April 8, 2011

I am attending the MN Speech and Hearing Association conference this weekend. It is always great to get recharged and be around people that speak SLP.

I went to a session presented by Carol Westby, Ph.D about literacy and English Language Learners. It made my brain think it was back in grad school but in a good way! She is so knowledgeable and it made me think about what I can do better or differently in my schools. Here were a few tidbits that she shared:
Storybook Curriculum
The Invention of Hugo Cabret
Holes
She likes to use Caldecott Medal Winner books as they often are around longer so it makes it easier to find them.

I was torn between staying to hear the second part of her presentation or attending other options. I ending up attending a presentation from Super Duper on their HearBuilder series. There are 4 programs: HearBuilder Following Directions, HearBuilder Phonological Awareness, HearBuilder Auditory Memory and coming soon HearBuilder Sequencing. All are CD based but the company is working on internet based options!

My last sessions of the day was iPod Touch and iPad for Children in Speech Language Therapy presented by Eric Sailers the creator of ArtikPix app and more. It was great to meet and chat with him. I use his app everyday with my articulation kids. I even use it with my fluency kids- it’s an easy way to have them practice at the word and sentence levels and keep data. Eric is going to pursue more speaking engagements and has begun working with Assistiveware. We all gained knowledge about iPod Touch, iPad, Proloquo2Go and iTunes features. Here are a couple of other apps we looked at for use in therapy:
Violet and the Mysterious Black Dog
Wheels on the Bus

It was also nice to see some of my co-workers and other SLPs friends. And also some of my blog followers like Laura! So even though I live less only 25 minutes from the conference I chose to stay over night at the hotel. Did I mention it was next door to the Mall of America?!!! Ok gotta rest and be ready for more shopping learning tomorrow.

2 Responses to 'Recharging my SLP brain cells'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'Recharging my SLP brain cells'.

  1. Laura said,

    You are too funny! I was also very glad to see you!! MSHA is such a wonderful place to connect and spend time with people who truly understand your everyday work situations.

    I look forward to connecting with you again!! Take Care Cindy!!

    Laura

    • Cindy said,

      Laura-
      Feel free to connect anytime! It is always good to collaborate.
      Cindy


Leave a Reply

