Cindy L. Meester's Blog- Speech Therapy with a Twist


Robot and Jellyfish Invasion

Posted in Uncategorized by Cindy on November 21, 2011

As I mentioned in my last post I enjoy doing classroom lessons during my 3:1 week. It gives me a chance to see the students in another setting and we can work on transferring skills (hopefully!).  I didn’t start my 3:1 schedule until November due to changing schools. I needed time to get my schedule set up and my position changed from two schools to one (yeah!). I was ready to get out of my speech room and shake up my schedule. I always offer lessons to teachers during my collaboration week. This week I was able to go into the three site-based classrooms and do whole group lessons. I talked about the Turkey Luminaries in my last post. Here is the fun I had in the other two classrooms.

ROBOT INVASION


This summer I found an activity that talked about making robots with tin cans and junk drawer finds in the Disney Family Fun site. So I saved cans of various sizes and pulled junk together from every drawer, recycle bin, and toolbox around our house. That was the easy part but finding magnets that were strong enough to hold these treasures and were not too expensive took more hunting.  I was able to find them at the Great MN State Fair believe it or not. Northern Tool has a store set up at our State Fair and it carries a wide variety of equipment, tools and just fun stuff. I bought several sets of disc magnets that were very inexpensive. I used my glue gun to attach the magnets to my junk drawer finds.  I did not glue all the magnets to junk drawer finds. I saved some to use with items that are attracted to magnets and could be changed out easily.

Before creating our robots we talked about robots and looked at some of these apps- Dancing Robot (free), Little Blue Robot (.99), Talking Roby (free), Talking Roby for iPad (free),  Interactive Alphabet (2.99), Toca Robot (.99), AR Robot (free) You need to print this picture to go with the app- Robot app picture.

I set the box on the table and we “guessed” what was inside-not too hard since I had robot pictures glued to it! But it was fun to give them my “wrong” guesses. It was a way to work on joint attention and joint enjoyment. I set out the cans and the junk drawer finds on the table. This classroom is one of of our autism rooms and  many of the students’ verbal skills are limited. It was best to create visual models for this group. I picked up items and placed it on my can saying this is my robot’s eye, mouth, brain, hair, ear, etc. The students did not have any difficulty creating their robots. One boy even began talking for his  robot in a robot like voice . This made my heart ping as he is not very verbal and here we were talking “robot” together.  One other student so wanted to take his robot home but  was able to dissemble his when he knew he could have a picture with his creation. I used my iPad to take the pictures and printed one of each student. I used  the Photo Collage Creator (free) to make the photo above. The faces are hidden to protect their identity with stickers found in this app.  I have a feeling the Robot box will be making more appearances!  This is the sheet I printed out so they could take their robot home- just add your name and insert their picture. I left the blank for them to create a name for their robot at home but you could add that with them too. Robot Makers

Other activities with Robot themes: Robot Dominoes

JELLYFISH INVASION

Picklebums.com


There is very funny and talented lady named Kate who I follow on Facebook, Twitter and on her Picklebums Blog. She posted a cute Jellyfish Activity and I knew I would be using it! I did not use it exactly as she presented it although I’m sure the students would have had fun singing the song. The class was another one of the  special education site based rooms and these students have a range of cognitive disabilities. I knew we would need to be as interactive as possible to keep everyone’s attention.  I cut out the jellyfish except for their tentacles. We talked about what the creatures were called and what to call the long things at the bottom (tentacles). With help or independently each student cut between the tentacles. Together  we said “cut” and said “stop” when we got to the head. I used drinking straws (from our supply room) and we taped them on the backs.                                Concepts targeted: up, stop, over (tape over straw), back/behind, front

I projected ocean pictures through the classroom smart board. The students took turns having their jellyfish swim in the ocean, away from a shark, over/under/behind/in front of a sea turtle, inside a cave, away from the beach/sand, around a scuba diver, floated on top of the ocean, etc. Pretty soon we had a smack* of jellyfish and lots of giggling. (*other terms used for a group of jellyfish are: swarm and bloom)                                        Concepts targeted: up, down, over, under, in front, behind, back, fast, slow, away from, together, apart, stop, go, float, sink, scary, friendly, cold, hot, dark, light

ocean pictures

Jellyfish Apps that could be used with this activity- Sea Life Matching Cards (.99), Funny Stickers-Sea World (free), Sounds of the Sea (free), Fraise Puzzle (free), Macaron Fraise Puzzle (free), Jellyfish Frenzy (free), Jellyfish Hunter (free)

8 Responses to 'Robot and Jellyfish Invasion'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'Robot and Jellyfish Invasion'.

  1. Katie said,

    Love the robot activity!!! HOW FUN!

    • Cindy said,

      Thanks! It has been fun and I am using it in different ways with all my students.

  2. Nancy said,

    You have such wonderful ideas!

    • Cindy said,

      Thanks Nancy! I get lots of ideas fom others and tweak them to my style and student needs. I guess that is what being as SLP is all about.

      • Nancy said,

        Yep, that’s what it is! And the same goes for teaching. I can see having older kids write directions for how to assemble their robots, or what path to have the jellyfish follow.

      • Cindy said,

        Great ideas Nancy. That’s what sharing is all about!

  3. katepickle said,

    Oh I love your robots… and using the interactive white board as a sea scene for your puppets is WAY cool!

    • Cindy said,

      Thanks Kate! Your jellyfish were my inspiration.


Leave a Reply

