Cindy L. Meester's Blog- Speech Therapy with a Twist


“I like nonsense, it wakes up the brain cells.”

Posted in Uncategorized by Cindy on March 8, 2012

I had to share this with you all. I had so much fun with this spontaneous activity. I never know what the kids will teach me.

I started with a group of 1st graders who asked about the button on the wall in my speech room. It quickly turned into our lesson that day.  As we brainstormed ideas one student keep sneaking over to “push the button.”  Two of the kids got a little hysterical and were yelling “NO!!!”  I guess our imagination got away from some of us and turned into a reality. I think my next lesson may need to be about imaginary and real!

The next group were 2nd graders. While one was very imaginative the other needed a little more guidance but no one “freaked” out!

Enjoy our stories…. (please excuse any grammar errors …we are working on that)

The button 1

The button 2

Maybe you too can lead some minds down an imaginary road.  Here are a few ideas that you could write and talk about:

1.  With St. Patrick’s Day coming place a rainbow in your room and write about what could be at the end.

2.  Put a sealed box (wrapped or not) and write about what could be in the box?  Will you let them lift it or only look?  Will it be on a table or hanging from your ceiling? Think about putting in something that rattles or is heavy. Will you open at the end….maybe only in your imagination!

3.  Bring a suitcase (any size) and write about where you are going and what you would bring.

4.  Put footprints on your wall, door, chair or whatever and write about what left them, what they looked like, what they were looking for and where they went. The footprints could be any human, animal or alien!

5. Post a picture of a window covered by a curtain and write about what you might see if you opened the curtain.

What other ideas do you have? Leave a comment for all to view!

I like nonsense, it wakes up the brain cells.  Fantasy is a necessary ingredient in living, it’s a way of looking at life through the wrong end of a telescope.  Which is what I do, and that enables you to laugh at life’s realities.  ~Theodore Geisel

4 Responses to '“I like nonsense, it wakes up the brain cells.”'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to '“I like nonsense, it wakes up the brain cells.”'.

  1. Nancy Barth said,

    Great ideas from the kids, Cindy.

    I used to make Leprechaun traps with kids and they’d have to describe how they worked, orally and/or in writing. Sometimes we made a class trap and wrote about it together.

    Nancy

    • Cindy said,

      Great idea! I may try that too.
      Cindy

  2. Orlanda said,

    What a great therapy activity! Some of my best ideas come on the fly, too! This will definitely go into my idea box! Thanks for sharing!

    • Cindy said,

      Thank you! I’d love to hear some of your therapy ideas too.
      Cindy


Leave a Reply

