Cindy L. Meester's Blog- Speech Therapy with a Twist


Bootiful art work! Plus a review for Mask Jumble Halloween app

On my indirect week I like to go into classrooms and do a project with the whole group. This past week I went into the three self-contained special education rooms. I often create a project that each child can take home but switched it up this time. I used screen shots from some apps and clip art. I used photos of the students taken with my iPhone and iPad to create our posters.

In  this room I used pictures of different Halloween costume pictures and we labeled them or pointed  (dependent on students’ skill levels). Then we made a collaborative “Fall-o-weeeeen” poster. I used the app Picture Me Trick or Treat and clip art from Scrappin Doodles. I bought the pumpkin bag and cut outs from the dollar store. The fall confetti around the sides was the idea from one of the students.

In the second room we made a “Field of  Screams” poster. The corn was made from a green strip of construction paper and clip art for the corn. The bats and spiders were from the dollar store. The clip art was from Scrappin Doodles, Halloween Card Creator and Wood Puzzle Halloween.

In the last class we made a collaborative “Knock Knock. Boo’s there?” poster. The clip are was from Scrappin Doodles and Picture Me Trick or Treat. I used construction paper for the doors. The bats and spiders are from the dollar store.

First we had closed doors:

Then we knocked on the doors and….

For all of these posters we were talking, pointing and requesting. The kids glued the items on tho poster board and we talked about concepts like: over, next to, under, top, middle, bottom, more, all done etc. Of course lots of vocabulary happening too!

APP Review:

Mask Jumble Halloween is a fun app from Piikea Street. I did not have this app before creating our posters. If I had I would have definitely added these fun pictures! You can view more information and a video on the Piikea Street website.

I used this app with students for fun and to work on taking turns (waiting is hard!), giving directions and making choices. The app includes 10 masks with 40 unique pieces.  As you complete masks you get treats and need to catch them in your mouth to earn a new mask. What a fun way to work on right/left, and up/down. Photos can be taken of your face in a mask which then can be e-mailed as a postcard or printed. With my students we printed them and then compared and contrasted the faces/masks. We also worked on emotions/expressions. You can make any face you want for your mask- a sad Frankenstein  an angry princess and more.  I worked on articulation sounds for some students /s/- mask, costume, princess etc. /k/ Frankenstein, mask, cute, costume, etc. We had a great time with this app! Piikea also has another mask app called Mask Jumble Animals.

How can you incorporate this app into your therapy sessions?

  

This is my door to my speech room. I used clip art from Scrappin Doodles and a postcard (black pumpkins). Student pictures and a spider or other Halloween creepy image are under the pumpkins with a ?. 

Here is how I use it.

1.  I put sticky notes on the side numbered 1-4 and across the top lettered A-C. Students state A-1 and the other student finds the correct pumpkin and lifts it up. We get to see if it is a person or a Halloween image.

2. Students choose a pumpkin and lift it up if it is a person they can keep going or stop. The object is to see who can lift the most without getting a Halloween creepy image.

3. I put two of each image and the kids play a matching game. I use Halloween images, articutlation words/pictures and vocabulary words.

Do you have any other ideas  for this door?

6 Responses to 'Bootiful art work! Plus a review for Mask Jumble Halloween app'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'Bootiful art work! Plus a review for Mask Jumble Halloween app'.

  1. stock3liz said,

    You are so creative!!! Love all of your ideas!

    • Cindy said,

      Thanks Liz!

  2. Laura said,

    I love how you incorporated technology and hands-on activities! I like them all, but I think the Knock Knock Boo’s There is my favorite because it would be perfect for my Functional Academics students. Thanks for sharing – great ideas!

    Oh, How Pintearesting!

    • Cindy said,

      Thanks Laura- The Boo classroom was our functional room for kids so this activity did work out well for them.
      Cindy

  3. Nicole said,

    Love the Mask Jumble Halloween! Lots like the students had a ton of fun!
    Nicole
    allisonspeechpeeps.blogspot.com

    • Cindy said,

      It is a fun app. We have been having fun with it at school- both kids and adults!
      Cindy


Leave a Reply

