Cindy L. Meester's Blog- Speech Therapy with a Twist


Playing at working

As I grab my keys and head to my car I often tell my husband I’m heading to “play” vs. going to “work.”  So check out some of the “playing ” that has been happening in my therapy room!

Gerald_G_Girl_Driving_Car_Cartoon

I have been receiving some fun products and apps to try. Here are a few of them in no particular order. Disclosure: all of the items posted were gifted to me but my comments are my own.

1. Think Fun has wonderful games. The most recent one I played is called UnHinged. You can check it out here: Unhinged

I played this with one of my 2nd grade groups in a cooperative game format. They were excited but found it to be a little too challenging. I used it with a 3rd grade group and they also found it challenging but were able to complete three of the patterns. It is recommended for ages 8 and up. The object is to manipulate the hexagon into different patterns. The game comes with a booklet of patterns to copy. It IS challenging but fun!

unhinged

2. How Katie Got a Voice (and a cool nickname). This is a fantastic book by Pat Mervine, founder of  Speaking of Speech. You can find ordering information Here.

The book is about a fourth grade girl who cannot talk. It is a way to introduce uniqueness in all of us while reaching about disability awareness. Pat has a special until the end of December so order it now!

3. Apps for working on Social communication-

Conversation Builder Teen is one of the new apps from Kyle Tomas at Mobile Education Store. This app follows the same familiar  format of other apps from Mobile Education Store but with a teen twist. The scenes are made for teens and the conversations even look like text messages. How cool is that!

teen

Social Quest is a new app from Smarty Ears. Each player can be transported into 16 locations from the movies, classroom and more. The social situation is based on each location. Players can play the “quest” in a receptive or expressive mode. Another winner from Smarty Ears!

social quest

4. Teachers Pay Teachers- There is now a plethora of SLPs posting materials for sale along with some freebies. You really should check it out and save your self some “work” so you can start “playing” sooner! Jenna Rayburn of Speech Room News complied a list of SLPs who are on TpT. Here is the link: SLPs on TPT

So thank you Think Fun, Pat Mervine, Mobile Education Store, Smarty Ears and TpT for making my work so much more fun!

lady

Ok back to work (tee hee)!

Leave a Reply

