Cindy L. Meester's Blog- Speech Therapy with a Twist


Tell grandma he REALLY is saying “truck”

Posted in Uncategorized by Cindy on May 3, 2014
Tags: , ,

Many times as a speech language pathologist I have worked with children who are very difficult to understand.  I have even acted as an interpreter for testing with one kiddo so I could help his teacher understand his responses. When they are little some of the sound errors are cute and we may smile and know that they will outgrow it just as fast as their clothes size changes. Maybe you have worked with a child who had difficulty with consonant clusters for /r/ or /s/ and the substitutions can be interesting at times. Hence the title of this blog posting. I have had a few who used /f/ for /tr/ which caused a few gasps from grandparents or other relatives. Those are times I counsel parents and teachers on how to “interpret” and react. It is also a time to remind parents to let grandma know that he/she really is saying “truck.”

I do not know of many books that are written from a child’s perspective who has difficulty with articulation. I have used Hooway For Wodney Wat but that’s the only one I have on my bookshelf.  Now I can add a new book “The Mouth With a Mind of Its Own.”

image

This is book was written by Pat Mervine . The name may be familiar as she also created the website Speaking of Speech.

Here is a little synopsis:

Matthew is a little boy and his family thinks the way he talks is cute. He is excited to start school and then the difficulties begin.  Matthew can’t say his name correctly so his teacher ends up calling him Mah Yoo.  The story continues with Matthew meeting and working with the speech language pathologist. And not to give the ending away but if you too are an SLP I think you can imagine it.

This 32 page book is one you will want to add to your bookshelf.  There are not many books about speech difficulties geared for kids. Matthew let’s us experience life with a speech disorder through his perspective. It’s a wonderful resource for adults and kids. It could be used to introduce a child beginning speech therapy. I believe it would be a great book for a classroom lesson on differences and acceptance. It’s also here just in time for Better Hearing & Speech Month.

You can order it in print or kindle editions on Amazon  or get an autographed print copy with free shipping from Pat’s website: Pat Mervine’s books.

How will you add your own twist? Let me know.

Cindy

 

Disclosure: I was provided a preview digital copy of this book but the review is my honest opinion.

2 Responses to 'Tell grandma he REALLY is saying “truck”'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'Tell grandma he REALLY is saying “truck”'.

  1. judyhale said,

    Oh, my gosh, I remember the first time, years ago that a kid used that same substitution you referenced, and I thought, ‘how does a 4 year old know how to curse like that?’, but then I realized what he was really trying to say! This book sounds so good, I would love to have it. I do a ‘story time’ at the beginning of every school year with the primary grades, and talk about communication skills, so this would be a great addition to that!

    • Cindy said,

      I know you will love the book. Pat wrote a great story. Don’t you love all the kids we work with and the things they say! I just wish I would of wrote them all down from the very beginning of mt career.
      Cindy


Leave a Reply

