Cindy L. Meester's Blog- Speech Therapy with a Twist


App review… ArtikPix Levels+

Posted in Uncategorized by Cindy on November 10, 2014
Tags: , , ,

I use a lot of apps in therapy. I mean a a lot! I just traded in my iPad 2 64 gb for an iPad Air 2 128 gb. But I am still choosey about which apps I put on to use daily with my caseload at school and at the speech clinic. So this one of my “twists” in my blog this year is to post reviews of new or not so new apps that I use. Here is the first one as I climb off my procrastination wagon.

Unknown-4

ArtikPix Levels+ is the newest app from Expressive Solutions created by Eric Sailers. I was lucky enough to receive a free copy to review for you (my disclosure). Note: This app requires an iPad running  iOS 7.0 or higher.

I would recommend watching the videos on the link above or below.Watching the video can help you fully appreciate and understand all this app has to offer. embed]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PenF6ClE_xs[/embed]

This  includes 1477 photographs that target 24 decks of sound cards. I was able to move from words to phrases to sentences and to paragraphs with a simple touch on the screen. The different options to practice make the app engaging and extend it’s use over multiple sessions. You may chose to use the word cards as flashcards, matching pairs (word level only) or pick and spin. Data is collected and saved for each session. You are also able to add your own content to personalize sessions.

The initial set up allows you to chose exactly what sounds and levels you want each student/client to work on. This can easily be changed in the edit mode.

Flashcards: This option is what is found on most articutlation apps. The photos change by touching the arrows. The choices of what level to work on is on the bottom- words to paragraphs.

Unknown

Pick or Spin: This option can be used at the word, phrase, sentence and paragraph level. It is is similar to the flashcard level but with a “twist” or I guess I should say “spin.” The photos appear on a computer screen. You can choose to spin (for a new image) or speak (it speaks the words on the screen).

Unknown-2

 

Matching: This is only available at the word level. When you initially set up your students/clients you can choose to have this at different levels of difficulty- easy, medium or hard. The picture below is set to the medium level with 3 rows of 4 cards. Easy is 2 rows of 3 cards and hard is 4 rows of 5 cards.

Unknown-1

 

Create: This feature allows you to add your own cards. You can add an image from your own photo library or through a link to bing.

This app currently is in the app store for free with the TH deck and in app purchases for other sound decks: Free TH deck.

Here are a couple of  my “twists” for this app.

1. I always use my articulation apps with my fluency and language students/clients. They can practice fluency techniques and vocabulary skills.

2. I plan to make new decks specific to my students for social skills- in the group/ out of the group- think Super Flex ideas.

 

 Cindy

mm9000410031

2 Responses to 'App review… ArtikPix Levels+'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'App review… ArtikPix Levels+'.

  1. Eric Sailers said,

    Cindy – I really appreciate you providing such an in-depth review of ArtikPix Levels Plus. I hope you and your students enjoy the app.

    • Cindy said,

      You are welcome Eric. I look forward to exploring your app more with my students. Have fun at ASHA! I’m really going to miss it especially since we are covered in snow and high temps only in the 20s!

      Cindy


Leave a Reply

