Cindy L. Meester's Blog- Speech Therapy with a Twist


The calm before the scheduling storm…

Posted in Uncategorized by Cindy on September 5, 2015
Tags: ,

So my summer is over and school will begin after Labor Day. I survived the 5 days of professional development and got my speech room set up. This year I took “before” pictures to remind me that once upon a time everything was organized. So take a peek before it gets all “twisted!”

 image

image

image image image

Now on Tuesday this space will morph into a blizzard of class lists, teacher schedules, post it notes and pulled out hair. Yes it will be time to once again reinvent the wheel also known as scheduling. But as I have found in the past 38 years this can be accomplished with many tweaks along the way AND throughout the school year. I’ll see you once I shovel out the mess and actually start with students!

So here’s where I should comment about my lack of posts but how about some fun pictures from my summer vacation instead! I am so lucky to have lifelong friends who wanted to celebrate our milestone birthdays (yes 60 of them) by taking a trip to Wyoming and Montana. Cowboys, happy hour, whitewater rafting, happy hour, pig races, happy hour, horseback riding, happy hour, shopping, happy hour, rodeo, happy hour, mountain exploring and did I mention happy hour?! Many memories and laughs were shared.

 image

So with a new year beginning I am making no promises that my posts will be on any kind of schedule. I did promise myself that I would share any therapy ideas that others may find useful. If you’ve read my blog you know I like therapy with a twist so stay tuned. I do have some Wild West ideas galloping through my brain and will try to rein them into therapy. Of course I found therapy materials on my trip I am an SLP after all.

Can’t wait to see the twists you add to your therapy sessions!

Cindy

mm9000410031

Credits:

Door Posters this set also contains We ♥️ Posters

Speech Ninjas

Wooden Wall words were bought at the MN state Fair but can be ordered here: Wall Words

The Listen Board was from Target’s Dollar Spot

We ♥️ Posters

Common Core Cans from Nicole Allison

Material Open Top Containers I used left over borders and taped them inside to get a more uniform look. I also did this to the portable storage drawers.

The fun seating- the flat seats were from Target on clearance. You can see what twist I added to these- Seating Twist

The ball chair was given to our school this year. A furniture company did a photo shoot this summer and donated all the furniture to our school- standing desks, carts, etc.

The “talk back chattering teeth” record your voice. I bought them on my summer vacation at a Cracker Barrel restaurant and could not find them online. I did see one on eBay.  Sorry!

The M & M dispenser was bought at the M & M store in Las Vegas. They sell them other places too. And no I no longer fill it with candy…darn heathy eating in schools.

My Fairy Door was bought from a wonderful New Zealand craftsman (Imagination Doors) who has moved and closed shop….temporially I hope.

4 Responses to 'The calm before the scheduling storm…'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'The calm before the scheduling storm…'.

  1. stock3liz said,

    Looks like you are ready and you got one of the fun chairs??

    Sent from my iPhone

    • Cindy said,

      Our wonderful guidance counselor, Cynthia offered me one of hers. We are both going to move them out to students in the classroom if needed. 😀

  2. cjmonty said,

    I am envious of your windows and your caseload. I always like reading about your year so hope it is a good one.

    • Cindy said,

      Thanks Cindy! I enjoy your blog too. Here’s hoping to great years for both of us! Right now I have 62 on my caseload which is very high for my district. Our department will look at all caseloads in about 2 weeks and tweak as needed. So hopefully that will mean another SLP will be picking up some of my caseload. Time will tell!
      Cindy


Leave a Reply

