Cindy L. Meester's Blog- Speech Therapy with a Twist


Not a Stick…

Posted in Uncategorized by Cindy on May 3, 2016
Tags: , ,

 

not-a-stick

Last posting I showed how I used the Not a Box book. This time I used Not a Stick for our creative and imagination adventures.

This book follows the same format as Not a Box. It has one sentence on a page along with cute line drawings of pig and his/her imagination. This time pigs finds a stick and let’s his/her pretend play turn it into a artist’s brush, sword and other imaginative objects.

First we read the book and made guesses of what the pig had imagined his/her stick to be. The book is set up to show pig standing with the stick and the next page shows what it becomes. It was a interesting to see what guesses my students made.

I gave each student a blank card stock paper and a bag of sticks. What will their imagination turn the stick into? I tried to steer them to new ideas and not just ones from the book. It wasn’t too hard to do. Once they had their idea I hot glued a stick to their paper and they drew their object.

I did not have them draw themselves. I took their pictures and printed them to add to their creations. See below for some of the finished results!

IMG_1827

image

I even had a crown for the princess.

IMG_1851

IMG_1852

I can’t wait to see what my other students create!

Now for the twist. What app can pair up with this book you ask? Here are a few suggestions:

Draw a Stickman – free

Draw a stickman– this one is done on your computer

Draw a Stickman: Epic 2 – 1.99

Draw a Stickman: Epic HD -2.99

Draw a Stickman Epic- free – free

Doddlecast by Sago – 2.99

Now it’s time to add your own twists… Let me know by leaving a comment or two.

Cindy

mm9000410031

 

 

6 Responses to 'Not a Stick…'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'Not a Stick…'.

  1. Mynde Siperstein said,

    love this for teaching flexibility

    On Tue, May 3, 2016 at 4:47 PM, Cindy L. Meesters Blog- Speech Therapy with a Twist wrote:

    > Cindy posted: ” Last posting I showed how I used the Not a Box book. This > time I used Not a Stick for our creative and imagination adventures. This > book follows the same format as Not a Box. It has one sentence on a page > along with cute line drawings of pig an” >

    • Cindy said,

      Thank you!

  2. Jen K said,

    I just recently heard about these books as well. I have used EET with these books too. I had my students use their imagination to create an object with the “box” or “stick” and then use used EET to describe the objects.

    • Cindy said,

      Using EET is a great idea! Thanks for sharing.
      Cindy

  3. dibsondebs said,

    You are so creative Cindy!! It would be interesting to see what the kids could come up with if given just the idea of “Not a ______” esp if they had to work in groups to create a book.

    • Cindy said,

      Thank you! I thought of that idea of having them create their own not a something or other too. I think I need to have more energy. So maybe at the start of the school year!
      Cindy


Leave a Reply

